The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2009-03-28

Another several months later ...

I guess I should try to find time to update this more often *Sigh* I got a nice note from geekboy61 so I'll go ahead and update a bit now.

Warning: Not all good news.

First of all, Floofy-Q has been quite ill. The vet thinks that it's as a result of her bout with leptospirosis, since she's now in kidney failure and if you recall from posts at the time, she was very sick and they suspected lepto.

Just before we left on vacation, we almost lost her. The vet wanted to keep her in the hospital for fluids, but we got him to let us do the subcutaneous fluids and took her with us. We knew she'd not fare well alone and in a cage with an IV. So we hauled bags of fluids and such with us, along with meds for her nausea. Over the week she improved with the fluids twice daily and meds, and gained 1/2 a lb.! She perked up and seemed to really enjoy the trip.

The trip, by the way, was to this really awesome place, The General's Cabin. Very dog friendly and the owners were wonderful.

Anyway, the vet was pretty amazed at her improvement when we got back, and we've continued with the fluids and meds. She's nearly back to her old self, although she probably only has about 20% kidney function. If we stop the fluids, she'll go back to dying. So I give her subcutaneous fluids twice a day, meds three times a day, feeding special kidney diet food twice a day ... needless to say, it's kept me busy. When I go back to work on Monday, I'm not sure how I'll manage to fit that all in. It's going to be a bit tight.

In other bad news, my step mother, who has been fighting various cancers for a long time, passed away this week. My father is also fighting other cancers, and his is inoperable. But he was doing OK until this. I'm now rather worried about him, without her. Not to mention missing her myself!

Partner's cousin, who I adored, also lost her battle with cancer a few weeks ago. She was a wonderful person and only 52.

There has been too much sadness around this year.

My jewelry has taken a back seat, and I'm struggling to get the inspiration to create more right now. I have, however, picked my crocheting back up, and managed to make Partner a nice llama wool scarf out of handspun llama yarn. It's fuzzy, warm, and he likes it.

So, that's what's been going on lately, and why I've pretty much not found too much time to update the diary here. Not really sure what to post most of the time, actually.

But keep sending me notes and it will remind me to post occasionally! LOL

Now off to fix dinner for us and the doggerels.

Mitaquye Oyasin

0 comments so far