The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2009-01-16

Brief Update to My Crazy Life

Four months. Four MONTHS?

Good grief. I�ve been busier than I thought. *Sigh*

I was turned down for the Big Ass Indie Show.

The ShowMeEtsy Crazy Autumn Craft Show at SqWires went quite well! I actually made a bit of money there, and everyone seemed to do pretty well.

On the other hand, the Alton Quilt Festival was a bust. I sold one pair of earrings, and heard a lot of complaining that prices were too high, and that they�d seen �the exact thing� at a garage sale for $2, etc. The usual nightmare craft show things you hear all the time, but maybe not so much as we heard here. I think we were offering items not quite in the same category as the rest. There were a lot of craft items, but also non-handmade things. And most everything was being sold really inexpensively. Some quite cheaply. I doubt I�ll do that one again next year.


Due to a bad burn on one ankle (don't ask), and a broken bone in the other foot (don't ask about that either), I ended up dropping out of the last three sessions of my metalworking class, and not being able to participate in the Home Show, but I heard it went really well. Maybe next year.

The HandmadeFuzion Shop I started has lain dormant. I have one item there, but last I was on, the process of listing was more cumbersome than I liked, so I haven�t really been doing anything with that.

Even my Etsy Store has been listless lately.

I was, however, recently featured in St. Louis Handmade!

Go me.

Right now I need to concentrate on making more items, and updating my Etsy shop. I�ve gotten out of the swing of things and have been slacking.

Possibly, I shouldn�t have made it a legitimate business. Taxes aside, once I feel like I have to do something, it no longer becomes fun, it becomes *gak* work.

Next project: Making some luxurious sets for the Montage fundraising auction held yearly at the private school where I work.

Another next project: updating my gallery and posting more items I have made in my Etsy shop.

At least I�ve gotten the pictures out of my camera, and that�s a start!

Mitaquye Oyasin
Walk in Balance

0 comments so far