The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2008-09-08

Crazy and Crafty, But Still Hanging On

So I was getting ready for work this morning, and I�d opened the door about 4� to get some cooler air circulating.


When I do that, Floofy-Q usually sticks her nose in to say woof, I tell her �out� and she goes and lays down.


This morning, however, she decided she was going to be Velcro-Dog and didn�t want to go lie down.


Instead, despite my admonishments, she stepped over the little fan and plopped down IN there with me, effectively barring the door and trying to keep me home paying attention to her.


This is fine � I just move around her as needed. It slows me down some but not a lot and makes her happy.


But this morning was even slower than usual, because I was breaking out in giggles and snorts whenever I looked at her face.


Let me explain �


My hair is long-ish, and during the Summer, or when I just don�t have the time, or want to take the time, to actually �do� something with it, I twist it up into a bun-like arrangement on top and pin it down. A few twists, a few pins � DONE! Woohoo and off to work.


So �


Every time I glance up I see her staring at me with this puzzled and rather disapproving look, as if to say �I know humans are crazy but why are you sitting on my drinking fountain and pinning your tail to the top of your head?�


That killed me.


Anyway � how�s that for a return to the bloggosphere?


I'm still waiting to hear back from the Big Ass Indie Arts & Crafts Show to see if I was accepted. Supposedly vendors are notified sometime this month, but I am not holding my breath. Besides, it's the same weekend as Wintermarkt, for which I have yet to apply, but I�m thinking seriously about it.


Several of us in the ShowMeEtsy Team group are doing the Quilt Show and Fall Festival at Senior Services Plus, in Alton, IL, on September 20th, so I�m getting my things ready for that.


The next show after that (for me, anyway) is our first Trunk Show as a group, to be held on Thursday, October 16, from 5-9pm at SqWires Restaurant, in the historic Lafayette Square area. Partner actually agreed to take off work that day to help!


Then after that, we have a home show in O�Fallon, MO, and after that is Wintermarkt, as mentioned above.


Hopefully I�ll have enough jewelry made to cover all of that and still have time to make a bit more based on the themes of the venues.


Finding time right now is rather problematic, as it�s also the time of year when I�m super busy at work, and Partner�s family has all kinds of birthdays and other things going on, like family reunions and mulligans and such, not to mention my 40th (ACK) high school reunion is the end of September.


Also, my jewelry class picked up again in late August and things are just plain crazy right now.


I can�t believe I�ve managed to go 58 years without ever needing a calendar or planner and now suddenly I�m thinking of getting one of those iPhones or something. Sheesh!


So that�s where I am right now, and with any luck I�ll have time to post again sometime before another month goes by.

0 comments so far