The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2008-07-27

One week before the show jitters

Well now...

I just finished doing a preliminary set up of my soon-to-be craft booth in my dining room.

True, the table I'll have on Sunday will be 8 feet long and my table is only 5 feet long.

And true, I didn't take all my jewelry out to actually display it all on the displays I have.

And, I didn't (couldn't, really) actually set up the entire pair of 5 foot tall gridwalls and the smaller panels on the table, because I didn't have enough room to set up an 8 foot array in a 5 foot space.

But ... yikes!

I think I have more things to display the jewelry on than I have jewelry to display.

*sigh*

The Peach Festival at Pere Marquette Lodge is this Sunday, August 3rd. I will be going up the day before to better be able to actually wake up and get there in time to get everything set up before it starts at 10am.

Not to mention that way I'm sans dogs, sans Partner and hopefully sans a lot of pre-show stress and jitters.

I'm sure taking a few bottles of wine with me will help. Or something.

Setting my things up on a shared table with other crafters is one thing, but doing an entire table myself, with my own way of displaying and setting things out ... I'm still getting used to that.

I've been reading all kinds of advice from people far more experienced than myself. One of my favorites, in case you ever want to do your own craft show, is from Woodmouse, a fellow Etsy crafter and seller. I don't know her but I'd sure like to. I love her blog. And her advice.

Another little snag: I just realised that my merchant plate didn't come with my card imprinter like it was supposed to ... and of course the store is closed until Monday.

Needless to say I took Friday off from work because I really, really need that day to make sure I have more than I will need, just in case (spoken like a true packrat!).

And I also took Monday off to recuperate. This will allow me to take everything down at leisure, have dinner, and not have to drive an hour back home when I've most likely had a few glasses of some sort of alcoholic libation.

Just to destress, of course.

Wish me luck

Mitaquye Oyasin
Walk in Balance

0 comments so far