The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2008-07-18

Taking the Plunge

I hope I'm not setting myself up for rejection, but I just put in my email application to the Big Ass Indie Art & Craft Show being held in the Soulard area in November.

I'm not sure when I'll hear back, and I'm not sure how I really feel about it, actually.

So far I've just shared tables with people, either at Powwows or with the ShowMeEtsy group. This one I'd have a table all my own.

Which is fine, as I will hopefully have a table by then LOL. Also some gridwall panels and cable ties and netting and fabric covers and other miscellaneous display items.

Oh yes ... and the jewelry. I really need to go do that.

I came up with an interesting design the other night, and made it for a friend of mine.

Knowing that off-center, asymmetrical jewelry is popular in certain circles, I thought I'd give it a try. I'd made some highly asymmetrical dangly earrings for hissandtell quite some time ago. So this time I thought I'd make it simple and just do one strand, with simple one color beads, and then a bit off to the side do totally different beads (in this case, pearls) in a darker version of the same color. I thought it came out pretty nice. And she liked it.

However.

Not really to my surprise, but definitely to my consternation, I later found a strikingly similar design on Etsy.

*sigh*

I realize there's nothing new under the sun and all, but given the drama on Etsy, I can imagine if I start listing similar items now, I'm going to hear "copycat!" all over the forums.

Oh well.

Off to make more ...

Mitaquye Oyasin
Walk in Balance

0 comments so far