The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2008-07-16

Getting closer to being ready for a booth!

Well, I'm finally starting to get things together with my shop, Ravyn's Cache. I don't quite have enough jewelry made to fill my own booth yet, but the lovely ladies in my local ShowMeEtsy crafters group have been nice enough to not only let me share booth space, but have been helping me set up as well. I've been learning a lot! But there were still a few things I did need to get:

A credit card account with ProPay.
A credit card imprinting machine.
Credit card charge slips.
Business cards.
Advertising postcards.
Shop banners.
So ... I got all those!

I'm currently trying to decide on my color scheme, though. Who knew how important that can be? I was going to go with all white, to better have my jewelry (usually quite colorful) stand out.

But

Now I'm getting all kinds of opinions. Some say black makes jewelry "pop" ... others say one needs a bright color or colors to catch people's eye from across the way to just get them to your booth.

So much for nice white with raven black accents.

*le sigh*

The whole reason I wasn't going to use black was the lint and doghair problem. Most of the black displays are velour, velvet, or flocked somehow. And that REALLY shows the fuzzies! Not good when you're trying to sell nice stuff.

So, since the white displays are mostly the faux leather, or vinyl, and easily wiped clean (not to mention they don't show dog hair as much), that's what I was going to use.

Now I'm not so sure.

My business cards use a photo of a piece of jewelry I'd made that is pink, blue and silver. But I really do not want to use those colors. So I'm thinking the iridescent raven-wing sorts of colors. Which also happen to be sort of peacock colors: turquoise, purple and black.

With a base of white, of course *Grin*.

So I'm off to check fabric stores for some awesome fabric for that purpose. I can still use the white faux leather, but the table will have the other colors as accents.

Now to just figure out just how to actually do that tastefully.

The most awesome thing I just had to have, though, is THIS wonderful shop apron! It was made specially for me by DownZipper, a fellow Etsy shop owner and a member of my local craft group.

Isn't it wonderful? I couldn't use the normal ones because I sit down most of the time. So she made one vertical for me that will hang over the side of the chair but still move with me if I do get up to move around. So I'll have everything I need handy while manning the booth!

So ... now to go peruse fabric stores for that singularly striking fabric that will draw people from miles around to whatever booth I'm selling from!

Mitaquye Oyasin
Walk in Balance

0 comments so far