The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2004-06-28

A few animal updates

I was saddened on Saturday to go outside and find the forlorn little carcass of a baby robin. I don�t know that it�s my baby robin, because there are a lot of those guys around right now. But given the time period and the feathering on this one, I wouldn�t be surprised. I�m sad, but not surprised.

On another (and I hope not similar) note, I�ve been hearing abominable screeching noises about 10:30pm every night for the last couple nights. These are the same noises that, when heard intermittently, we thought were raccoons fighting, or perhaps getting one on or something. This sound has lately, though, been more like someone or something is vivisecting someone or something. Very unnerving, and it drives the dogs bazonkers. Which, of course, drives us bazonkers. And with D-Dog and FloofyQ trying to stuff their noses under the doors, it�s not as if I can just open the door to see what it is. I�m not sure I want to know. These are the things from which ghost stories came. And monster legends. For all I know, Wolfman is out there eating baby robins with hot sauce.

Speaking of FloofyQ � she�s been under the weather lately. We think she may have pulled a muscle, as she hasn�t had much exercise over the winter and Partner started walking them down by the river again a week ago. After two days of hard running she suddenly couldn�t jump up on the bed, or move up and down the stairs easily. This, from a dog who has springs welded to her ankles like Tigger, was scary. To top it off, she just looked sick. So, I took her to the vet Thursday, and of course, she bounced around the office, the little shit. So he found absolutely nothing wrong with her.

Saturday night, we almost took her to the emergency clinic. She keeps having episodes of weakness in her back legs and looking for all intents and purposes as if she were suffering a migraine.

I called the vet again this morning. She will be going in for X-Rays tomorrow. He thinks she has arthritis, the symptoms of which were kicked off by the sudden activity of running 2 miles a day for 2 days down by the river. And apparently she just has good days and bad (just like me! Woohoo!). There is also the possibility that she pulled a muscle and just as she�s getting better, she tries to jump frantically up on the porch at Partner�s urging (�c�mon! you�re tough, you can do it! Your muscles need exercise!�) proceeded to pull it again. I don�t know. We�ll find out more tomorrow. I�m heartened by the fact that the vet doesn�t think it�s anything like Lyme Disease or West Nile or anything like that.

Anyway, that�s the updates for now. I�m still busier than a fly on cowpies at work, but I must admit, it�s been nice, not having the stress and panic we used to get.

Mitakuye Oyasin

Walk in Balance

0 comments so far