The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2006-04-28

Succumbing to Cell Phone Dependency

My cell phone has gone AWOL.

You never realize how much you depend on something until it's not there. Trite but true! And I'm usually the one who abhors the fact that people use cell phones like a life line.

I used to have one but never turned it on, and got constant ribbing for it. But at least I knew it was there if I needed to call in an emergency. But that phone finally died the death and I bit the bullet and bought a newer, upgraded one.

One whose batteries stayed charged for more than 15 minutes if you so much as looked at the "on" button.

One that let you make more than one call before going belly up with it's little cellular tongue hanging pitifully out the side of the numbpad.

So ... now that I could, I left it on all the time. No one ever called, of course, except on really rare occasions. Like when Partner wanted to tell me he was going to be late and he knew I was already on the way home or something.

Today I had it with me when I got to work. When I left work it was no longer in residence in my purse. I scoured my office. I scoured the car, my purse, and the route back and forth between.

No cell phone.

Oddly enough it didn't occur to me to CALL the number to see where in my office it might be until I was already halfway home.

And you know what I did then?

I reached for my cell phone, to call my cell phone to see if it would ring and let me know where it was.

How pathetic is THAT?

*just groans*

I've become one of "them". *insert appropriately ominous da da DUM sounds here*

0 comments so far