The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2004-07-07

Misc. Stuff 'n' Things

Still no luck chasing FloofyQ around with a pan � *sigh*. Since she�s acting her usual, chaotic and hyperactive self again and has been so for a week now, I think I�ll just skip it. You would think it would be easy, getting a urine sample from a dog. Especially a dog who refuses to go outside now, after 5 days of fireworks literally scaring the piss outta her. I�ve gone through a whole two packages of puppy pads in the dining room (Pergo floor � easy to clean). But catching her doing it is another story, and somehow I don�t think the Vet wants something wrung out of a soaked puppy pad.

On other fronts, work at the Lions� Den has been almost a joy if it weren�t so hectic for me this time of year. It�s a whole different atmosphere now, when the new Head Lion is an easy-going guy who can get tossed into a swimming pool at a party and not fire the perps the following Monday.

So, although I�m horrendously busy this time of year, it�s nice. It does not, however, leave me much time to do other things. Like making jewelry. Or reading. Or playing EQ. Not if I want to spend any time with Partner at all anyway. Which I do, despite what he seems to think whenever he sees EQ up on the �puter LOL.

We�ve been trying to go up to the Columbia Bottoms Conservation Area by the confluence of the Missouri and Mississippi Rivers, every Saturday. The bird life up there is awesome, and although we saw a bunch of young egrets last time, and we see boodles of birdies each time, we�ve yet to see any mammal-type or reptile-type of being. Odd. The Visitor Center is now open, and they had the coolest floor! I know that sounds weird hehe. But the first thing I really noticed besides the displays, of course, was the FLOOR. It was concrete. That�s all. But in the concrete had been pressed various local leaves, and animal tracks! It looked SO cool. It was sealed, of course, and I imagine dirt would collect in the many crevices eventually, but it looked SO cool. If we ever re-pave our driveway I�d like to do that. Course, if we ever do, it�ll happen naturally with all the leaves we have everywhere.

Anyway. I�m going to skip my rant about people who just don�t �get it� about internet interaction, computer games, and computers in general. Suffice it to say that I�m really tired of it being somehow �ok� to sit for 4 hours in front of a TV, or read a book sitting outside, but it�s NOT �ok� to do anything involving a computer. Somehow it�s more �productive� to have passive stuff streaming into your brain but not �productive� to interact, think, solve problems, etc. if a computer is involved and it's not something physical outside requiring that you sweat a lot. You would think, that in this technological age, we�d be over that kind of stupid thinking. But there�s a decidedly reactionary thing going on world-wide now, especially in the U.S., and it�s just plain annoying.

And yes, that WAS skipping the rant.

Mitakuye Oyasin

Walk in Balance

0 comments so far