The Eclectic Musings of Ravyncrow

2004-04-14

The Camera that Ate Chicago

This is great!! I just bought a new camera. And I have no clue how to use it. *rolls eyes*

The "old" one was, in fact, old. It managed the vacation pictures of Arizona, New Mexico, Utah and Colorado, but apparently too much red Arizona dust got into it and it shot craps. My "camera guy" we use for the photo stuff at work told me they could probably fix/clean it, but since that model isn't made anymore and parts were hard to find ... blah blah bla ... better to just invest in a new one if I planned to take many pictures.

So, on to Amazon.com I went.

OMG ... choices, choices, choices!!

Now, my dad was a professional photographer when I was young. Developed his own film and everything and taught me how. (I have since forgotten) He used a Rolleflex (sp?) camera. Where you could look in the top and see what the picture would look like. I thought that was just the best thing since the Easter Bunny.

My dad also was a systems analyst and data processing geek when computers filled a room and used key operators and punch cards.

This does not mean he can use computers and cameras of today's models.

He's managed to figure out how to use email and post pictures on an AOL website and all but now my step mom takes the pictures with a point-and-shoot.

I now know more about modern photography equipment than my father ever did.

But that was yesterday.

Today, my brand new, super-duper, Canon PowerShot S1 IS Digital Camera arrived.

OMG

I will never figure out how to use this thing! It does everything but the laundry, and I think I found a "walk the dog" button but I'm not sure.

I can't even email the pics because the resolution is so good that they're HUGE files.

The manual is half an inch thick.

I will be going to see my chosen daughter's family this weekend and I wanted to take pictures (This thing takes movies too) but I don't think I'm going to figure out how to use it by then.

*sigh*

But it's a really cool camera.

*big grin*.

I just need to figure out how to keep it from eating my brain and swallowing my soul because I think it can do that, too.

0 comments so far